Our Team

Seven local businesswomen launched New Expectations for Women In Mississippi (NEWMS) in 2004 to encourage local women to raise their expectations and reach their potential. NEWMS sponsors workshops, classes, networking events, and resources to address the challenges women face in Mississippi.

NEWMS’s Fairy Godmother program grants funds to improve women’s economic circumstances. Through this program, women help women gain new skills to advance their job opportunities and provide resources to keep a woman employed.

We owe a debt of gratitude to Shawn Evans, Rubye Del Harden, Terri Williams, Sandi Morris, Juanita Floyd, Mary Pace, and Mary Werner who spent countless hours dreaming of what NEWMS could accomplish. Our current board is comprised of local business, and community women who are connected and dedicated to the NEWMS mission.

NEWMS Board of Directors

Charlise Latour

Charlise Latour


Myra Collins

Myra Collins


Cheryl Henning

Cheryl Henning

Past Chair

Juanita Floyd

Juanita Floyd


Denise Kennedy-Brown

Denise Kennedy-Brown


Ericka Jones

Gina Black

Kathryn Ragsdale

Christy Garrison

Martha Hood

Laquita Harris

Demetra Sherer

Cheryl Foster

Charlotte Pratt

Carla Enis

Kris Ivancic

Our Members

We’re thankful for all our supporters. Please show our members your support by clicking on their logo or business name to visit their website.

With COVID, we have had some delays in sending out and getting back our memberships. If you do not see your name, please contact us. If you think there is an error, please contact us as well. 

Thanks so much!














Updated 8.5.2020


Angle, Amanda

Watkins Uiberall

Armstrong, Melony

Armstrong Braiding

Carter, Jerri

Queen's Reward Meadery

Enis, Carla

Pinnacle Realty

Foster, Cheryl

Comfort Inn

Garrison, Christy

Absolute Cleaning & Restoration, LLC

Gunter, Heather

Gunter Properties LLC

Harden, Rubye Del

SprintPrint of Tupelo

Kennedy-Brown, Denise

Special Occasions by Denise

Latour, Charlise

Accelerate Your Success

McLemore, Haley

Alliance Collection

Pegues, Allan

Premium Productions

Wells, Wesley

Our Mississippi Magazine

Updated 8.5.2020


Adam, Sharilyn

Atkinson, Stephanie

Barnes, Dr. Marianne

Black, Gina

Boyd, Jessica

Brevard, Shawn

Clay, Jennifer

Collins, Myra

Depoyster, Cindy

Dixon, Valda

Eastman, Jan

Floyd, Juanita

Garrett, Tracy Holton

Gregory, Patsey

Hale, Linda

Hall, Stephanie

Hardenburg, Dawn

Harris, Laquita

Henning, Cheryl

Hood, Martha

Ivancic, Kris

Jones, Ericka

Kennedy, Ellen

Loden, Donna

Long, Zell

Luse, Dr. Kristy

McCalpin, Tammy (Sue)

McMillian, Kerri

MCMullan, Inita

Moss, Tasha

Neal, Taylor

Oswalt, Lee

Pate, Liddi

Ragsdale, Kathryn

Rodgers, Tammy

Speights, Amarette

Swindle, Martha

Trawick, Janice

Vitell, Caren

Werner, Mary

Williams, Marsha

Wilson, Kimberly

Wood, Connie

Wuichet, Debra